Happy Passover and Easter. May their messages of hope and redemption comfort us during this difficult time.

Menus for Passover and Easter are below, with links to recipes.

Apple-Carrot Kugel

Foodie Lit

Sweet, light and flour free. This Apple-Carrot Kugel is perfect for Passover meals or an Easter morning brunch.  Try it for breakfast or with brunch, a side for lunch or dinner or for a light dessert. Golden top, light apple taste—veggie haters will never even know the kugel has any carrots!! You can add chopped nuts or golden raisins.  And, of course, you can lessen the sugar with Stevia, as I do.  Tastes great either way.

Romancing Olive.jpg

Author Holly Bush told me, “Almost all of my books begin with a person traveling to a new place. It doesn’t really matter, I don’t think, whether you are going from farm to city or from city to farm. Those kind of lifestyle changes could be just as dramatic then as they can be today. New people and habits and sometimes a new way of looking at things can be the making of us. It was the making of Olive.”

Strong men and women, romance and heartbreak make Romancing Olive a frontier novel worth reading.

Olive's Peach Cobbler is the  perfect recipe for this frontier romance.

Apple Carrot Kugel

Serves 6

 

1/4 cup apples, peeled and shredded

1 cup packed grated carrots

4 eggs, separated

1/2 cup sugar or 1/4 cup stevia

1/4 cup sweet wine or apple juice/sauce

2 tablespoons lemon rind

1/3 cup potato starch

 

  1. Preheat oven to 375.

  2. Beat egg yolks and sugar until light. Add grated carrots, apples, wine, lemon juice and rind and potato starch.  Blend well.

  3. In a separate bowl, beat egg whites until stiff.  Fold into carrot-apple mixture.

  4. Spray casserole dish or baking pan with vegetable oil. Turn into greased casserole dish. Bake for 35 minutes or until puffed and set.

Expandthetable suggestions:

Less sugar:  Use 1/4 cup stevia in place of sugar

Nuttier:  Add 1/4 cup chopped walnuts or pecans

Raisins:  Add 1/4 cup golden raisins

Passover Menu

Lunch or Dinner

Soup

Asparagus Shallot Soup  https://www.expandthetable.net/asparagus-shallot-soup  

Salad

Strawberry Asparagus Salad https://www.expandthetable.net/strawberry-asparagus-salad

Main

Sushi sans rice  https://www.expandthetable.net/cauliflower-sushi    Main Course, vegan, no rice

Cauliflower Crust Pizza  https://www.expandthetable.net/cauliflower-crust-pizza-1  Main Course, vegan, gluten free

Passover Rice, Pasta and Breading  https://www.expandthetable.net/passover-rice-pasta-and-breading-1

https://www.expandthetable.net/two-kugels-potato-and-three-vegetable

Kugels https://www.expandthetable.net/two-kugels-potato-and-three-vegetable

Delicious Passover and Gluten Free Menu 

Dessert

Flourless Chocolate Pecan Torte  https://www.expandthetable.net/flourless-chocolate-pecan-torte-1

Almond Flour Brownies  https://www.expandthetable.net/almond-flour-brownies-1

 

Easter Brunch

Soup

Asparagus Shallot Soup  https://www.expandthetable.net/asparagus-shallot-soup  

Salad

Strawberry Asparagus Salad https://www.expandthetable.net/strawberry-asparagus-salad

Main

Very Mushroom Quiche  https://www.expandthetable.net/very-mushroom-quiche-1

Poached Salmon  https://www.expandthetable.net/poached-salmon-recipe  

Roll-up Lasagna  https://www.expandthetable.net/lasagna-roll-ups-1   Main course, vegetarian

Dessert

Red Pear Tart  https://www.expandthetable.net/red-pear-tart  Dessert, vegan

Pumpkin Brownies  https://www.expandthetable.net/pumpkin-brownies-1 

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon

Joining our mailing list will subscribe you to our free weekly Shoutouts and blog.

Contact Us!

Check out our editing and content strategy services, Editing Unlimited!